Posted by: Dennis | May 9, 2008

Restore deleted file in Flex Builder

I don’t know how many of you have experienced this issue but it’s a reeeeeally nasty one.

I have been working for the whole day on a class just to find it deleted at the end of the day after I hit CTRL+Z+something else (still a mistery).

I found the solution here:

http://thesaj.wordpress.com/2008/04/23/how-to-restore-lost-files/

The thing is to restore it from editor’s local history – right click the directory you know the file was and select “Restore from local history”.

What a relief!

Funny thing is that the deleted file couldn’t be found even by recovery tools.

Responses

  1. It was definitely a sweet discovery when I found the ability to pull that off.

    🙂

    Glad to know my blogging has helped someone.

    – Jason The Saj

  2. Yeah, it saved me a day of work 🙂

  3. THANK YOU. I will herald your name as a messiah and savior for years to come. Oh my god did this save my butt.

  4. Who’s brilliant idea was it to make “undo” almost the exact same shortcut as “mysteriously delete huge sections of your code without a warning, dialog box, or even a notification”? Sheesh.

  5. WOW! You are the Man! You are a genius!

    I really appreciate it!

    I’ll drink on you!

  6. thanks a lot for this help. I have had the same problem in Flex Builder that costed me not that time it costed you thanks to you:) I hope I could say what I wanted. Cheers! Dan I’ll drink too lol

  7. Thank you so much! You saved my week! This is brilliant!

  8. You save me!! Thank you!

  9. HOLY SHIT, THANK YOU, YOU ARE A GODSEND.
    YOU SAVED ME FROM HAVING TO REWRITE 800 LINES OF CODE!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

